The different available codes and standards

Watermist codes and standards can be divided into three seperate categories. In this chapter the three seperate types will be explained and examples of them given. When all three standards are followed / successfully tested in accordance with, then a watermist system can be found acceptable. This is also the approval requirement of notifying bodies such as FM, UL, VDS, DNV, and Lloyds Register etc.
See more on page “Tests and Approvals”.

Fire tests and component tests

Fire Testing

Fire test standards are used to determine the nozzle/system scope (if necessary), specific design data and the system limitations or the uniqueness of each system.
Such data can be:

– Nozzle type (pendent, upright, sidewall, etc.)
– Nozzle spacing, Pressure, Flow rate or K-factor.
– Ventilation, obstruction requirements or strucutral limitations.
– Maximum fire loads, ceiling height, volumes, openings, etc.

Examples of such standards are:

– FM5560: Residential, LH, OH1, Machinery, Turbines, Industrial Fryers, more.
– UL2167: Residential, LH, OH1, OH2, Maritime applications.
– VDS: Residential, LH, OH1, Car parks, Cable Tunnels, Shopping Areas, more.
– CEN/TS 14972:2011 – Annex A: Offices, Cable Tunnels, Fat Fryers, Special Hazards,
– IMO 1165 + 1387: Machinery Spaces
– IMO MSC 265: Accommodation Areas.
– IMO 1430 / 1272: Car and Truck decks.
– ISO 15371: Commercial Fat Fryers

Component Testing

Component test standards are used to determine the robustness and reliability of the system components. These lifetime tests determine whether a component is designed to be able to withstand many years in actual installations or not. Approvals to such tests are sometimes underestimated compared to the fire test approvals but they are just as important (if a component fails to work after 10 years, then it is not better than a component which fails in a fire test). Component test standards are sometimes found together with the fire test standards, but not always. In a reliable component test standard there are between 20 and 30 different tests for automatic nozzles and between 10-15 tests for open nozzles. Most other watermist system components are tested and approved “case by case” since they can be very system specific.

Examples of such standards are:

– FM5560 (Covers all watermist system components).
– UL2167 (Covers watermist nozzles)
– CEN/TS 14972:2011 (Covers all watermist system components).
– IMO A800 + MSC 265 (Covers automatic watermist nozzles)
– IMO 1165 (Covers open watermist nozzles)

Overall design standards

Overall design standards are used to give the user of watermist overall guidance in designing, installing and maintaining watermist systems. These standards include common requirements which all systems, independent of brand, have to follow. As the watermist industry is changing a lot so are the standards, so remember always to use the latest revision only in order not to follow outdated requirements.,

Examples of such standards are:

– NFPA 750 (latest revision in year 2014)
– CEN/TS 14972 (latest revision in year 2011)
– SOLAS 1974 and amendments (latest published in year 2014)